Skip navigation

prickly pear

Barbary Fig Drawing with Aquarelles


I realised today I only had a couple of hours, so no long labour of love was possible. So it seemed a good moment to mess about. To scribble in colour and enjoy it. The Barbary Fig is a willing subject, large sections of it collapse to the ground regularly. So although I felt a little guilty depriving the bees, as I gingerly negotiated prickles to snap sections from the main, I know that this cactus is designed to fall apart, and start anew from the ground. (So don’t stand underneath a heavily laiden tree for too long!).
I enjoyed the spikes, the green and the bright yellow and red. Sumptuous, succulent and violent at once.
2013-11-22 12.06.31

Broken off the tree outside

 

One Comment

  1. Gorgeous. Interesting to have the photo alongside. I love the colours! The green is beautiful. Sophie xx


Leave a Reply

