Skip navigation

We went for a walk in the woods this weekend and I (unknowing) stood astride a boomslang. My husband shouted ‘move’ with sufficient emphasis that I knew I was clearly in trouble, but gave me no indication as to what the trouble was. Consequently I did a little panicky jig over the snake before deciding to run, as did my youngest. The boomslang was unruffled by the dance above and slid off up the tree, to eye us from a safe distance.
I watched and cursed the fact I did not have my camera, this snake was an emerald beauty.

On returning home after this adventure I resolved to clear everything out of the studio. The class this week had been crowded and a little chaotic. My nice demo-jug had got broken. I realised I had been putting off making decisions, or rather not acknowledging how much space and time the students needed. I needed to rejig and rethink the studio, as a shared space. Not my haven alone.
We went out and bought a new table and some checkered PVC to cover the big black one. And I stopped dancing about and got on with it…..

20141014-103000.jpg

Clean Empty Studio

20141014-103157.jpg

Albert Lends a Hand

20141014-103210.jpg

Decorative Slips

20141014-103220.jpg

Students work drying in the sun

20141014-103030.jpg

Covering Large Table in Check PVC

2 Comments

  1. Hello, Jas. I commented here earlier and it whisked me away…oh well, here goes again. So glad you survived the snake! I stepped over a rattlesnake in LA and it was sleeping. Its quite a moment isn’t it…So glad you’re back in the studio and with some pretty talented students by the look of things xxxx

    • I think poor LB was the most spooked. I didn’t feel endangered at all. Boomslangs are very shy and unlikely to bite, thank goodness.
      After all that clearing I only had two students this week (half term approaches). Ah well was good to do anyway….


Leave a Reply

