Skip navigation

So I finally got a firing. Kazuri Beads let me use their kiln. Although confusingly they will not tell me how much they are going to charge me before the event. I have relayed this story to others and they tell me this is a peculiarly Kenyan approach to a transaction. We shall just have to see I guess…..how much could it be?!?
Anyway in goes 28 pieces. (Only one made by me!)
As we loaded up I am reminded how much I like technicians. The practical people that work away behind the scenes. They are the problem solvers and genuinely want things to work well for others. Lacking in the ego required to be the front man I am naturally at home with these types. And I feel confident that Nicholas is going to see us right!

20141201-125808.jpg

Dry clay vessels, being loaded into kiln at Kazuri Beads

20141201-125824.jpg

The steady hand of the technicians

20141201-174236.jpg

Me and the fellas at Kazuri Beads

20141201-174252.jpg

All loaded up and good to go….

Leave a Reply

