Skip navigation

I left all my pottery stuff in Kenya. Sold my wheel, got rid of my clay, moved on.

Now every exhibition I go to seems to give me permission to do or try something. Previously I might have seen others’ work as a closed door, a reminder of that which I will never achieve. An under scoring of my failure, lack of true commitment, lack of integrity.

Now I don’t seem to care quite so much.

I started doing some work on childhood, more specifically, girlhood. The work I saw, the things I looked at, and my daughters behaviour seem to come together to make a series of photographic and video works.

IMG_0015.JPG

One Comment

  1. Thank you for this Jas. it reads like a permission slip to oneself – something we all need to write! Have you read Big Magic? In a nutshell it is everything you’ve just described. You go girl. Xxx


Leave a Reply

